Has dating changed?

It’s been 10 years since the last time I had a first date.

And now I’m single again, and it’s possible – likely, even – that I’ll go on dates with people.

I know I’ve changed, but I don’t know if dating has. Last time I was single I was in my early 30s, and seemed to be in that awkward age. When you’re a student, dating is all about sex because your hormones are raging, and all the girls you meet are also into the idea of just trying stuff out. It means little, it’s just fun.

In your late 20s to early 30s (as I was the last time I was on a first date) dating is meant to be more mature. Nobody mentions it, but it’s pretty likely that you’re both looking for a life-partner. Somebody permanent. Somebody to settle down with and buy curtains. You have a little more confidence, and you’ve done the experimenting, and now it’s all about longevity. At least, that’s my experience of it.

But now I’m in my early 40s, and I’m wondering if dating has changed again. Are people my age so confident and independent that they’re all about the fun? Or are they feeling the clock ticking, and eagerly searching for their last chance at something permanent?

I guess it’s time to find out! Thank God I still have my hair, and can (in the right light) pass for 35.

Leave a Reply

